Janicethoughts

Just another WordPress.com site

You can’t judge a book by it’s cover and we probably shouldn’t anyway…

on April 20, 2012

This picture was taken on my 18th birthday in November 1976. I know the corner of the pic says April 1977 but back then we had to take our film to a store to get it developed and then wait days to get our pictures back. And the photo developers (not your camera) stamped the date on the pics. Can you imagine? Anyway, I was a senior in high school when this picture was taken. Don’t I look young, sweet and innocent? In an effort to not embarrass myself, my mother or my kids (who may or may not be reading my blog) you will just have to take my word for it that I was a bit of a wild-child. If you knew me then you can attest to this. I was thankfully never arrested (the police were a bit more lax back in the 70’s) but the drinking age was 18 in 1976. I could legally drink my senior year in high school.  I had a few close calls during my wild youth and I thank God now that He protected me and spared my life as I did a lot of foolish things.

Fast forward to now (yes, quite a few things happened between now and then) and I find it quite ironic that this former wild-child is now a church secretary.  As I was mulling over what to blog about next it dawned on me that I spend six days a week in a church. How many of you can say that? Yes, I am a church worker. Does that make me any better than any of you who might happen to be reading this? No. I am blessed that God sought me out (and that I was listening). And I’m blessed to be able to serve Him through my work. And just because I call myself a Christian and I work in a church doesn’t mean that I am any better than anyone else. As my pastor likes to point out – none of us are perfect. (Actually he does say it a bit nicer than that. Really.) If you aren’t attending a church, I encourage you to visit one of mine. You will meet the finest people…none of them are perfect but I guarantee you will be blessed by the ones you come to know. I know I have been.

(For the record, I work at St. John’s Lutheran Church and I belong to Hope Reformed Church. Both are great places to worship.)


Leave a comment